Thursday , 22 November 2018
Home / Pakistan / HISTORY OF ICC T20 WORLD CUP



ICC-World-Twenty20-Trophy-2014-Logo1ICC World T20 Tournament is going to be started on 16th March2014 and the venue will be Bangladesh. Fifteen teams are participating in these events which are England, India, Australia, Ireland, UAE, Hong Kong, Bangladesh, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, South Africa, Afghanistan, West Indies, Nepal, Zimbabwe and Netherlands. Three teams i.e. UAE, Hong Kong and Nepal are first time appearing in the event. Two teams Kenya and Scotland are not qualified for the event.

The World T20 event was first inaugurated in 2007 and it was decided to manage this World T20 Cup Tournament after each two years. The final of first tournament was played between India and Pakistan in South Africa which was won by India for only 5 runs. Shahid Afridi stood best player of the event by taking 12 wickets.

ICC T20 WORLD CUP 2009The second T20 Tournament 2009 was won by Pakistan. Due to hectic efforts and prayers of people of Pakistan, Pakistani Team continuously reached in the final against Sri Lanka and after a very warm match Pakistan defeated Sri Lanka by 8 wickets in the ground of Lords. Shahid Afridi once again becomes man of the match. He scored 54 runs in 40 balls.


ICC T20 WORLD CUP 2012Third T20 event was held in 2010 instead of 2011 because in 2010 West Indies had to host the One Day Champions Trophy Tournament which was converted into T20 event. So the T20 event was managed in the very next year i.e. 2010. Another reason for this event in 2010 is because in 2011 World Cup Tournament of 50 overs was going to be held. The final of this event was played in West Indies between England and Australia which was won by England.  The Pakistani Team was defeated by Australia in semi final because of its defective fielding. The next T20 event was held in 2012 in Sri Lanka. Only 12 teams were participated in the event. Pakistan again loosed the match in semi final against host team Sri Lanka by 16 runs. The final was played between Sri Lanka and West Indies which in spite of home ground and home crowd Sri Lanka loosed the match. West Indies after a long time achieved some big title so players of West Indies enjoyed and conciliated the festival in the ground.

Now in 2014 T20 event is being started in Bangladesh. All the teams especially Australia, England, Sri Lanka, West Indies and Pakistan are favorite for this Tournament.

The highest score 260/6 in the event was made by Sri Lanka and 2007 and the least score made by Ireland which was only 68. The top scorer of the tournament was Mahela Jayewardene of Sri Lanka who scored 858 in 25 matches including One Hundred and 5 fifties. Only one Pakistani Batsman Kamran Akmal was placed in the list of Top Scorer on 9th position by scoring 476 runs in 24 matches. His maximum score was 73. Lasith Malinga of Sri Lanka becomes the Top Bowler of the event who took 33 wickets in 25 matches against a score of 653. Saeed Ajmal of Pakistan becomes second top bowler by taking 32 wickets against a score of 495 in 19 matches. Hence the average position of Saeed Ajmal is better than Lasith Malinga. Kamran Akmal was also the best Wicket Keeper of the even, who haunted 24 players in 26 matches.



Check Also

Prime Minister Imran Khan Top Style From His Cricket Career till as PM

Advertisement Former Cricket legend turn to politician in 1996, Imran Khan now become the Prime …

One comment

  1. wow ..!! Excellent post.I liked Cricket .Thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *